Facebook has launched a new tool that lets people see which apps, businesses and websites are sharing their information with the social network.
The tool lets people “clear” this “off-Facebook activity” data from their account and opt out of the information being used for targeted advertising.
But while the new tool disconnects a person’s profile from the data shared by advertisers, it is not completely deleted.
The tool also lets people opt out of targeted advertising based on off-Facebook activity.
People who opt out will still see ads but they will be “less personalised”.
Off-Facebook activity can be tracked in the latest version of the app or on the Facebook website